• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Jumping ship from the world of permanence

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Jumping ship from the world of permanence

Hi forum. Another newbie here - jumping ship from the world of permanent jobs after being made redundant and looking to try something new - well, let's be honest - seeing if I can earn a bit more money while there's change in the air.

Been having a good read recently and picked up a lot. Nothing ventured, nothing gained - here goes!
    ⭐️ Gold Star Contractor

Best of luck, and welcome
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

Good luck - I did the same thing in March. I spent months reading and thinking, but so far it's working out to be one of the best moves I've ever made. To be honest, even if I went permie again in July*, it would have been worth it to pay off the credit card

*Not happening if I can help it!

Comment

Originally posted by vwdan View Post
        Good luck - I did the same thing in March. I spent months reading and thinking, but so far it's working out to be one of the best moves I've ever made. To be honest, even if I went permie again in July*, it would have been worth it to pay off the credit card

*Not happening if I can help it!
        Thanks. I have two conflicting schools of thought at the moment... the risk manager in me is tulip scared that for some reason I won't know what to do when I start the job and/or will fail badly in some way.