• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Building a home lab (IT Contractor) & what you got?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Building a home lab (IT Contractor) & what you got?

Hi all

This forum (ContractorUK) is an excellent resource, good to be here.

Can I ask a very quick, straight to the point question:

I am an IT Contractor (started this year) and I want to build a home lab for the benefit of my business and career (certs, testing, development) - this is for legitimate business use as currently I am using AWS EC2 instances which I can't leave on as long as I would like, my questions are:

1. I know that I can buy the kit (enterprise class servers / storage and maybe some switches) from eBay and I want to claim it back as a business expense, how do you pay for it? Can I create my business as a delivery address and then just use that when I pay for it (personally) or do you add the LtdCo credit card AND the business address and do it that way? (paying for it direct out of the business account).

2. AWS - Again legitimate business use: development, testing, AWS certs - does anyone charge this back to the company, if so how do you do this? I have 3 x upcoming AWS certs that need renewing next year and ofc a multitude of new services AWS release that benefit me greatly to have an idea of use case for them.

3. Finally, those of you with home labs (for business use as I have outlined) what you got?