• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Any excel experts?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Any excel experts?

I have a spreadsheet that I am trying to tweak, I'm not a coder so stay away from VB and so far can do most things I want to excel logic.

In the range P2:AB35 I have a series of numbers, each representing a year from 2013 onwards, what I want is the average of the last five years, to do this I have the following

(Cell P1) =YEAR(TODAY())
    (Q1) P1-1
    (R1) Q1-1
    (S1) R1-1
    (T1) S1-1

This gives me the current year and the last 4 that I can reference.

I then use HLOOKUP to search a range for the values that refer to those years

Code:
    =AVERAGE((HLOOKUP((P1),$P2:$AB35,5)),(HLOOKUP((Q1),$P2:$AB35,5)),(HLOOKUP((R1),$P2:$AB35,5)),(HLOOKUP((S1),$P2:$AB35,5)),(HLOOKUP((T1),$P2:$AB35,5)))
    (the 5 refers to the 5th row down under that year, the next time is 6 so is the sixth row down etc)

This works perfectly, for those conditions with 5 years of entries, if you only have 1 year it will include the blanks and give you the average of year 1 + 4 years of zero, which works kinda but not ideal as it gives me a 5th of one year rather than the average of one year which is the same as one year.

I want to try and ignore any years with blanks, this works perfectly,

Code:
    =AVERAGEIF(P2:AB2,"<>")
    But won't limit myself to the last 5 years when it has enough data point.

I can't seen to work out how to nest the two, is it even possible?
    Originally posted by Stevie Wonder Boy