• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Using a Raspberry Pi as All-in-one pc?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

If the wifi is unreliable, do you not have any means of cabling the laptop for when extended periods of online work are needed?

If that's not feasible, easiest plan B is to buy a USB wifi dongle. They come in handy for all sorts of unexpected reasons.

Comment

Good point, I'll order a nano wifi adapter from amazon.

Testmangler, she may get more bullying just for mentioning I am a contractor. After all premies seem to think we are scum

Comment

Stop your WiFi adapter from "going to sleep" before you buy anything?

Locate your WLAN Adapter. Note: There is no one name for the WiFi card, so you will have to go through the list and look for something with "wireless," "802.11," or "WiFi" in the name. Click "Power Management" tab in the properties window. Uncheck the box of "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power".

This should go some way to resolving the issue of the WiFi disconnection problem.
        I was an IPSE Consultative Council Member, until the BoD abolished it. I am not an IPSE Member, since they have no longer have any relevance to me, as an IT Contractor. Read my lips...I recommend QDOS for ALL your Insurance requirements (Contact me for a referral code).

Comment

Originally posted by css_jay99 View Post
          Maybe I should get her 2 Apple pro display monitors as well.
          Yes.
          Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment