• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Taking the C++ plunge

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Taking the C++ plunge

Since my contract is unlikely to be renewed in August and the RPG / Midas prospects are looking bleak, I've decided to re-skill in another banking package (Summit).

This necessitates me learning C++.

I did a bit of C at uni (12 years ago), but nothing since. I'm currently an AS400/system i developer so don't know a massive amount about OO programming but how hard can it be - right?

Can anybody recommend:

1) an online tutorial to get me started (google found this linky - any good?)
    2) some books for further learning
    3) development tools I might find handy

TIA
    ‎"See, you think I give a tulip. Wrong. In fact, while you talk, I'm thinking; How can I give less of a tulip? That's why I look interested."

Originally posted by Moscow Mule View Post
    Since my contract is unlikely to be renewed in August and the RPG / Midas prospects are looking bleak, I've decided to re-skill in another banking package (Summit).

I did a bit of C at uni (12 years ago), but nothing since. I'm currently an AS400/system i developer so don't know a massive amount about OO programming but how hard can it be - right?

Can anybody recommend:

1) an online tutorial to get me started (google found this linky - any good?)
    2) some books for further learning
    3) development tools I might find handy

TIA
    The tutorial is quite good.