• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

The minefield of it all!!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The minefield of it all!!

Hi all

New on here, and found i had to talk about it before i go mad.....
    I have been contracting to a public sector for two years, and now they tell me i need to go umbrella as they have wound themselves up over ir35. This, despite the fact that;

I am a Ltd. Company, VAT registered and invoice monthly against a PO set against a project.
    I am a member of CHAS.
    I supply goods as well as my services and employ contractors under the CIS construction scheme.
    In my duties i accept the role of principal contractor for construction projects.
    Up until recently had a compound external of the main building as Principal contractor under my liability insurance.
    Run projects as i instruct regarding access, H+S etc.

I don't think i fall inside ir35, however the client thinks differently and wants me to go via an umbrella company. How can i price all of the above and put it into a number for said umbrella to charge the client??

My head is in bits as i don't think i can continue with them. Or i stop trading as above after 20 years....?

Add 30% to cover the loss or find another gig.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

HMRC treating people like dirt for years. Yet it is only when HMRC come for them that they get interested.

<sigh>

Comment

Originally posted by brummie011 View Post
        Hi all