• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Restrictive covenant clause

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Restrictive covenant clause

Hello there,

I am relatively new to contracting, only started last November. However, I need some guidance with a way forward.
    Apparently there are two agencies involved between myself and the end client and as you can imagine, the commission is more than 100% of what I get, this is hurting both the ends, i.e the client and myself, specially with IR35 coming in.

Now, the client is ready to hire me directly through one of their umbrella company but I am not sure what my legal position is? There is a restrictive covenant clause in my contract such as "The Intermediary and the Consultant shall not for a period of 12 months following the termination of the Assignment enter into any agreement to provide services directly, or through any other person, firm or Employment Business, to any Hirer for which he/she has carried out Assignments at any time during the previous 12 months "

I have tried asking for a no objection certificate from my agent and he has obviously denied the same.
    Is there any way I can get hired directly to the end client? any help is much appreciated!

Originally posted by newbie49 View Post
    Hello there,

I am relatively new to contracting, only started last November. However, I need some guidance with a way forward.