• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

leavers procedures and notice period

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

leavers procedures and notice period

Hello there ! Yes I am a newbie and yes I am on my first contract with an umbrella company..and yes, I ve tried to search for other threads but.. here I am.. that's my situation:

I am negotiating with an umbrella company (Giant) for a 12 months contract with a recruitment agency on a behalf of a communication agency (too many intermediaries!!).. I am on a final stage and I just need to sign all the terms and conditions. But.. I received an invitation for a second interview for a more appealing permanent role and I can't hold anymore the process with Giant, it needs to be sorted out asap.

So if I am gonna sign it and then change my mind ..and go for the permanent role, what could happen?

Giant specifically said in an email, when I asked about leavers procedures and notice period:

a) Immediate notice if you have been continuously employed for less than 1 month;
    b) 8 weeks' notice if you have been continuously employed for 1 month or more but less than four years.
    This is a ‘no working’ notice period. This means that you are not necessarily required to be working during this time and so are free to be employed elsewhere or sign on to Job Seekers Allowance during your notice period.

But I have a 4 weeks notice with the final company (the communication agency)....could I still go with the immediate notice?