• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella companies

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Umbrella companies

Hi,

Ive just started a new contract through an agency I have used before, on starting the job I have been advised to use an umbrella company to process my wage.

Now im no accountancy whizzkid thats why I work in construction and before any one says anything yes I have contacted them about this(and im still non the wiser) but they are processing my hours @ minimum wage to in thier words to keep my tax down and as long as I send my reciepts to them and a bonus payment which is in the box below the final figure will be lower so I will get paid more......if ive lost you now thats where I'm at

I earn 18.00 an hour, being that I have a UTR no, why am I not getting paid the rate Ive agreed for the hours that I work less tax,less insurance and the fee for pressing a button to transfer the funds, I couldn't care less about expenses as far as I'm concerned you are paying for life as soon as you wake up in the morning so whats a bit of petrol and food if you need to cover these things ask for a better rate or work more hours.

Anyways getting back to this umbrella company how are they using expenses to make up my wage which incidently works out at less than I would get going down the route above.

If any one can explain this to me it would definately broaden my horizons

Moved, as originally posting this in General wasn't the best idea.

Comment