• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Take home differences PAYE+ National insurance

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Take home differences PAYE+ National insurance

Right, so i'm new to contracting and have decided to take the umbrella route as i'm not sure if this is long term.

Anyway, I have been quoted..

Giant:

Employers NI:£2844
    PAYE tax: £3624
    Employees NI: £2479

Paysteam:
    Employers NI: £3078
    PAYE TAX: £3962
    Employees NI: £2683

I was under the impression that the only difference should be the difference in company margin. This is nearly £800 in differences per year!!!

Am I being robbed? I thought Paystream was reputable as it has won the ContractorUK reader awards.

I would appreciate it if someone could explain. Thanks

Paystream assumptions:

* On PAYE your agency should accrue holiday pay for you at 14.54% of your gross pay.

* We have not included earnings from any other sources this tax year.

* Our monthly margin has been deducted before any payments are made to you. The net cost to you could be as little as £45.87
    * Calculations are based on working 12 months in a year and we have applied monthly tax allowances.
    This a difference in nearly £800 per year

Giant assumptions:

1) Tax year 2015/2016
    2) Standard single person allowance of 1060L
    3) 52 weeks per tax year
    4) Business mileage calcuated at 45p per mile for first 10,000 miles annum then 25p thereafter
    5) You have no earnings from other tax sources