• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Help! I think my umbrella company has screwed me over!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help! I think my umbrella company has screwed me over!

I am having an absolute nightmare and need some help! I've been contracting since August 2016 and at the time I was rushed into choosing an umbrella company to use, a friend of mine recommended me Payerise and I blindly just went with them as she told me she had used them years without issue.

However, a while ago I questioned my payslip with them, my year to date tax seemed very low and I was worried that this was a problem, my consultant responded with: In regards to your payslip slips, as your umbrella company we are able to lower your taxable pay, your tax is then deducted from this amount and would be correct based on the tax code of 1059L that we have on the system for you. We calculate your pay in a way that gives you the best possible take home and are legally responsible for making all of your deductions from your and submitting them to the HMRC.

She said "we are legally responsible" and so I just left it - I probably should have pushed it further but I am not originally from the UK and the tax system is confusing over here so I assumed I was probably just wrong.