• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Employer's Pension Contributions and NI

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Employer's Pension Contributions and NI

I've been contracting for a few months with Parasol and have just discovered that they pass on employer's NI on what are described as 'employer's pension contributions'.

My understanding was that employee's pension contributions are subject to both forms of NI, but that employer's were not.

The apparent reason for the charge is that the Parasol pension scheme 'works like a salary sacrifice scheme but is not technically a salary sacrifice scheme'.

Can anyone shed any light on what the set-up of the scheme might be, or is this really just a 'hidden fee' by Parasol?

Originally posted by rotcartnoc View Post
    I've been contracting for a few months with Parasol and have just discovered that they pass on employer's NI on what are described as 'employer's pension contributions'.
    Not sure that that makes any sense

What leads you to believe that the NI is pension? Is this all bulked under one cost as employment costs maybe?

Comment

I am guessing that a £300 "employer" contribution (for instance) into the pension scheme doesn not reduce the Employer's NI payable by the employee.

i.e. the £300 is not deducted from the Gross Invoice Value prior to calculating the Employer's NI.

That sound right OP?

Comment