• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to Umbrella companies: some advice please

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to Umbrella companies: some advice please

Hello,

I'm still quite new to the UK and have just taken on a six-month contract that I am told falls inside IR35 and that I will need to go through an umbrella company to get paid. Having freelanced in Australia as the equivalent of a sole-trader for much of my career, all of this is quite new to me (we don't have inside and outside IR35 or umbrella companies). I've spend the past few days reading extensively on these forums and elsewhere, and had a chat with Paystream to understand it all a bit better. A bit annoying that these companies take a considerable fee and that you have to pay employer's NI - add that to my own NI and PAYE tax and it doesn't leave you with a lot...but I guess it is what it is.

Anyway, as it seems is the case with recruiters, I've been given a list of umbrella companies to choose from. Have been reading up on reviews, which are of course a mixed bag, but some are a few years old now. Wondering if anyone has advice on any of the following - or on anything else I should be thinking about as a first-time user of an umbrella company.

Umbrella.co.uk
    Paystream
    OrangeGenie
    NASA
    Brookson One

Thanks in advance!

This is a pretty standard list and has been discussed a few times. Have a go at the Google search option to find similar discussions already out there.

In Google type in