how to work out if an umbrella company is dodgy: holiday pay etc how to work out if an umbrella company is dodgy: holiday pay etc
Posts 1 to 5 of 5

Nervous Newbie

Default how to work out if an umbrella company is dodgy: holiday pay etc

Hi
    A broker contacted me and the umbrella he proposes is not registered with the FCSA so that's my first red flag.
    I have done some calculations of take home pay as a percentage of gross, giving further red flags.

weekly gross £1435
    broker's umbrella deduct £244 p/week (17% of gross). Take home pay £1191 per week including holiday.
    FCSA umbrella deduct £526 p/week (36.7% of gross). Take home pay £909 per week including holiday.

Can anyone assist with how I calculate the holiday, and what other red flags I am missing with the umbrella recommended by the broker, please? I am new to this. The FCSA umbrella (Giant) seem more realistic.

Thanks.

Prof Cunning @ Oxford Uni

It sounds dodgy.

What is the name of the broker, and what is the name of their suggested umbrella?
    I'm perfect, in a very specific and limited way.
    Hands... out infractions
    Face... the music
    Space... between the ears

Double Godlike!

Walking in the garden, dreaming of Olivia...

As a rule of thumb, don't go with any umbrella that charges a percentage of your rate. They all have the same work to do, so should be charging about the same amount regardless of your gross.

Equally, don't go a with a broker, do your own research and comparisons against a sensible baseline (Clarity or SJD/Contractor Umbrella, for example).
    Blog? What blog...?

Fingers like lightning

Quote Originally Posted by eskimalita View Post
    Hi
    broker's umbrella deduct £244 p/week (17% of gross). Take home pay £1191 per week including holiday.
    FCSA umbrella deduct £526 p/week (36.7% of gross). Take home pay £909 per week including holiday.
    Take Home should be as follows:

Weekly Gross Contract Rate £1,435.00

Employer National Insurance £150.09