My first payslip with IR35 and I don't get it! My first payslip with IR35 and I don't get it!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 10 of 12

Nervous Newbie

Question My first payslip with IR35 and I don't get it!

Hi,

I used to be a LTD contractor and just moved to IR35. I got my first payslip but I don't understand it. Can someone explains to me those numbers?

The weekly pay is £3825 based on a 5-day week at £765.

The total paid by the client to the umbrella company is £3825.

Then the umbrella company takes £18 off per week as margin.

But then they say Employer NIC is £437.55 and apprentiship levy is £16.70.
    There is also employer pension contribution for £13.08.

And so I am left with a gross pay of: £3339.

Now when I ask the umbrella company how they arrive to that £3339 they tell me they just removed all the figures above from the £3825. But then when I asked them how they calculated employer NIC and the apprenticeship levy, they say they applied the percentages (13.8% for NIC and 0.5% for the apprenticeship levy) on the £3339 .... It doesn't make sense to me that they calculate NIC and levy based on a number that they say they generated using those 2 figures... Which ones come first, it cannot be both.

Anyone understands those numbers??

Thanks.
    Jerome

bored now

Why can't it be as that is exactly what they say as both items are set as fixed percentages of your gross salary.

Oh and throw money into your pension to reduce the amount you lose pay in NI..
    merely at clientco for the entertainment

Nervous Newbie

Thanks for your quick reply.

I understand how they are calculated if we take the gross salary (3339) but I don't understand then how we go from the £3,825 to £3,339? The only thing I was told is that my daily rate is £765.

Prof Cunning @ Oxford Uni

Quote Originally Posted by petafin View Post
    Hi,