• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Huge difference in take-home pay between umbrella PAYE and agency PAYE

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Huge difference in take-home pay between umbrella PAYE and agency PAYE

I've been contracting and consulting in banking for over 20 years via my own limited company. I have just been offered a contract via a well-known recruitment agency at a well-known bank.

Now that the banks refuse to engage with limited companies because of IR35, the recruitment agency has offered me two PAYE options:
    • Be employed by one of their choice of umbrella companies, e.g. Paystream or Giant, who will deduct their fee, employer's NI and an apprenticeship levy from my daily rate, before calculating my PAYE in the conventional way. This is confirmed by illustration documents.
    • Be a temporary worker under a contract for services with the agency, who will make no deductions from my daily rate before calculating my PAYE in the conventional way. This is confirmed in an illustration and the contract, which is ready for signature.

The agency is trying to push me towards umbrella companies, and even discouraged me from using the agency's own PAYE, saying it was rubbish. Gaining sight of the agency's PAYE contract and illustration was like getting blood out of a stone.