Uk permanent address and umbrella companies Uk permanent address and umbrella companies
Posts 1 to 8 of 8

Nervous Newbie

Default Uk permanent address and umbrella companies

I am new to contracting and very naive, I have been trying to find an umbrella company. I live in the Philippines and my contract is in Abu Dhabi, also I have not lived in the UK since 2008. Since March 2012 I have had no property in the UK.

One company said they could not offer me umbrella services because I did not have a permanent UK address (my agency and the umbrella company I approached are both UK based).

Another company said they could not accept me because my contract period was to be spent totally in Abu Dhabi. They also stated that it was against tax legislation for them to deal with me because I did not spend all or most of my contract time in the UK.

Can anyone offer advice please to a novice, and if possible a good company that will accept me.

many thanks

Chris

Some things in Moderation

This is the ONLY time I would advice this but I would google '90% returns' and find one of those 'wealth management' umbrellas as you appear to be a perfect candidate for them; you have no connection with the UK whatsoever and HMRC won't be in the least bit interested in you.

Don't bother asking for recommendations for that sort of umbrella here though because I won't let them through.
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

My post count is Majestic

Quote Originally Posted by cojak View Post
    This is the ONLY time I would advice this but I would google '90% returns' and find one of those 'wealth management' umbrellas as you appear to be a perfect candidate for them; you have no connection with the UK whatsoever and HMRC won't be in the least bit interested in you.