Realistic take home income and IR35 Realistic take home income and IR35
Posts 1 to 5 of 5

Nervous Newbie

rolandd has no reputation

Lightbulb Realistic take home income and IR35

Hey,

I'm a Software Developer and I plan to move to London (from Sunderland) at the end of this year and work on a £400-£500 / day rate as a contractor.

I read a lot about the IR35 and at some point I felt exactly like this title : IR35: the end of a dream - A contractor's view .Even if I read a lot, I find the IR35 rules very ambiguous.
    The description of all contract jobs seems exactly as a permie one : work on a client schedule (9-5:30 -- M-F), at the client Office, following their rules. So from my point of view all the contracts are inside IR35. Or it depends more of what is written in the contract than what will you do ?

Another thing is what % should I expect to take home from £500/day rate ?
    Using Umbrella Company inside IR35 - take home : ~55%
    Using Umbrella Company outside IR35 - take home : ~65%
    On other calculators, even on this site, outside of IR35, it says that you can take home 80% ++

TykeLike

SimonMac is always on top

A lot of the calculations were/are made on the premise that expenses can be used to reduce the tax liability and therefore "bump up" the take home pay percentage, as of April these will no longer be valid so take home pay will be lower
    “Live a good life. If there are gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been, but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by. If there are gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no gods, then you will be gone, but will have lived a noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones.”

― Marcus Aurelius

Nice But Dim

DaveB is a fount of knowledge

Quote Originally Posted by rolandd View Post
    Hey,