• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

FAIR PLAY ???????y

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

FAIR PLAY ???????y

Hi people

I am fairly new to contracting been on the same job for the past 11 months now.

Here's the current set up .....
    We are a 6 man team or as we call it 3 on 3 on standby mode (just incase).

There are 3 of us out of the 6 that are doing 95% of the work load.When we approach the so called man in charge of the contract (when he's not playing in his phone )He says "yeah it's tulip that the other guys aren't as skilled eh"
    And then walks off and plays on his phone.

Over the past few weeks now we've decided to up the pace even more and get the job done quicker .

Now the "team leader" is raging that we are smashing the job 1.5 to 2.0 hrs early as he can't claim the overtime paid by his company.

We get paid the same no matter what.

Here's the question ...Where do i stand when I have completed my job can i sit in the canteen area ???can i leave the site???

Any advice on this will be greatly appreciated
    Thanks

Fixed rate contract for you, is it?
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

I can't help but feel this is a sockie, but...

Traditional contractor wisdom would suggest that you get your work done in the manner least likely to antagonise the permies around you and whoever signs your timesheets. You seem to be going in exactly the opposite direction.