• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Young IT contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Young IT contractor

Hello hello all.

I'm an IT Infrastructure Engineer permie currently, notice handed in and LTD company/Accountant all ready to go for my first contract (Not secured or started looking yet) after my 2 month notice is up.

Based in London, 3 years experience as an Infrastructure Engineer in various technologies and I'm 25. Wondering is there anyone of similar age who's made the leap?

The jist I get from my contracting friends (all 40+) is that they do less work than permies due to lack of willing to knowledge share with scumbag contractors. They also reckon with my skills I shouldn't struggle despite only having 3 years experience.

Just a friendly hello and any advice whatsoever is welcome.

Cheers

Originally posted by mitchell888 View Post
    Hello hello all.

I'm an IT Infrastructure Engineer permie currently, notice handed in and LTD company/Accountant all ready to go for my first contract (Not secured or started looking yet) after my 2 month notice is up.

Based in London, 3 years experience as an Infrastructure Engineer in various technologies and I'm 25. Wondering is there anyone of similar age who's made the leap?

The jist I get from my contracting friends (all 40+) is that they do less work than permies due to lack of willing to knowledge share with scumbag contractors. They also reckon with my skills I shouldn't struggle despite only having 3 years experience.