• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Medium to long-term financial goals?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Medium to long-term financial goals?

Hi all, ContractorUK newbie here, been lurking on and off the last few months. Some great advice from the site and the posters here, wish I had discovered it earlier!!

About me - I'm just finishing off my 4th contract so not exactly 100% new to the world of contracting, but not exactly a seasoned contractor. I did 2 short contracts, both of which were happy experiences that led to small extensions, then during the downturn in 2008, returned to permie work for quite a while to keep money coming in, then started contracting again last year.

I'm about to search for my 5th contract, but before I leap into the next one, thought I'd ask for advice from the more seasoned contractors here regarding my vague plan for myself for the next 5 or 10 years...

When I first started contracting, I was not very disciplined and did not put away enough in the warchest. When the downturn came about I was benched for 6 months. I also had friends and family who cried poor, and again my inadequate personal financial sense made a mess of my savings as I gifted money here and there to people who probably used it for booze instead of paying their bills as they claimed.