• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving in and out of banking?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving in and out of banking?

Hi all,

I am new to this site and this is my first post. I have been reading through the forums quite a bit though and have found the info very helpful.

Bit if background - I have been a contractor for about a year with one six-month contract and two three-month contracts all at different banks.

I am currently looking fir my next contract and have been offered a three-month but from sky which is outside of banking. What I wanted to know is - does it look bad on my cv if I take this contract especially since I would like to go back to banking? Ideally speaking I would like to be open too other industries and nit just banking but I am not sire how this looks. I fear that people will think I am not focused on a particular field. But the reality is that I like to do what I do but for different industries. I am essentially a programmer and data analyst btw.

Also how will it look if I have had my last three contracts all shirt term I.e. 3month contracts. Some people frown on this right? I do a good job in each contract but it may seem that I am spreading myself too thin perhaps.

Thank you in advance for any advice!

Moving in and out of banking is no problem, I've been doing that for almost 20 years.

That short gig thing could be a problem. Why do you never get extended, or take it if they off
    World's Best Martini

Comment

Originally posted by Rebel View Post
      Hi all,