• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Complete newbie - overwhelmed by the amount of information

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Complete newbie - overwhelmed by the amount of information

Hi guys!

I have a simple question here but it seems that I have to go through tonnes of legal material to get some sort of answer, only to find out that the legal documents are full of ambiguities.

I am a fully employed IT professional, paying taxes via PAYEE and it's always been like that as I'm permanently employed.
    I'm thinking of freelancing on the side, basically working weekends etc to doing small jobs here and there and of course I do want to do that legally (i.e. pay taxes) but I am unsure how to go ahead.
    Should I register as a company? I am not sure if the IR35 thingy affects me, I just want the least tax demanding method, hopefully without much hassle.

Any ideas? Anyone in a similar situation?
    Looking forward to your response!!

Nick
    Last edited by nkomp18; 12 April 2012, 00:12.

Go for an Umbrella, simple and hassle free, particularly about the IR35 thingy.

Which is what you want, isn't it?
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

There was a Freelancer UK site which sounded more up your street but I don't think it is very active if it even exists at all?

Either way, What Cojak Says....
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!