• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Starting out contracting - there's always some added confusion!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting out contracting - there's always some added confusion!

Hi everyone, I'm new to contracting (and this forum) after taking voluntary redundancy and as always the way for me, there is extra confusion to get my head round.

The main question I have is in relation how to set up - go limited or through an umbrella. I realise there are many posts already in relation to this but my main concern is what is the best option considering that I am expecting a baby and will be due in November 2013.

My master plan was to do contracting up to October and then be off on maternity leave from November for at least 9 months.

Would it still be worthwhile to set up as a limited company now or should I use an umbrella company and then set up limited after I return from maternity leave?

Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Have a chat to a few Umbrellas to see what their policies are.

Have a look around the forums using the term 'Maternity' or something like to see what other contractors have done. I believe there is one other pregnant (or did I miss the good news) poster on at the moment. There are also a lot of other posters that look pregnant but are infact just fat blokes who post in General.

http://forums.contractoruk.com/welco...uk-forums.html

Ring a couple of accountants that post on these forums and ask them what they would suggest.