• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Legal Question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Legal Question

Just wondering if any of you experienced folk have had any situations like this. I am a contractor turned permie. Recently hired a contractor direct who was earlier through an agency. We just had a PO with the agency with no Ts and Cs. I had nothing stopping me from approaching the contractor and he accepted the offer. (Lets not go into why I had to get rid of the agency). The agency sent me an email warning that the contractor had a restrictive covenant preventing his joining us. I am now wondering, if by extension, we are also liable even though we had no terms or constraints agreed. Any experience? Advice?

Sounds like the contractor had a clause in his contract with them that prevents him working for you directly.

Surprised that there were no terms of engagement at all between you and the agency. Are you sure?

Comment

Legal Question

I agree with ladymuck. It seems highly unlikely an agency would place someone on the basis of just a P.O.

If true though, legally it isn’t your problem.
      It could get messy though and you might lose the guy. Why not negotiate a deal with the agency that suits? At the end of the day you’re the client and hold all the cards bar the contractor being their man.
      See You Next Tuesday

Comment