• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dividends tax, living outside of the UK?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dividends tax, living outside of the UK?

Firstly, in the nicest way possible, my accountants are rubbish so please don't advise me to ask them ;-)
    I would however appreciate some of your battle hardened opinions on my situation please:

After 15+ years in the UK as a contractor I've moved to another European country, the current tax year is my 'cross over' year where I have lived in both the UK (2.5 months) and my new country.
    From April 6th I'll only be living in my new country with the very occasional UK visit for a few days.
    My new country has a tax system where I don't need to pay any tax on foreign earned dividends which I qualify for.

I'm the sole director of a UK limited company and understand I'll still have to do a UK tax return as a result.
    I have £200K+ available for withdrawal as dividends.
    I'd like to get the £200k+ out of the UK Ltd company in the most tax efficient manner possible.
    I appreciate options around pensions, MVL/Entrepreneurs Relief etc

I shall continue to consult worldwide outside of the UK and need a company structure to do so.
    So I could retain my UK limited company or go for Estonian e-residency and a company there for example.

What I can't get a straight answer to is, and any thoughts are appreciated:
    Do you have to pay UK dividends tax if your not living or tax resident in the UK?