• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

PSC Limited Company advice.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

PSC Limited Company advice.

Hi,
    I am a contractor and have decided to set myself up as a so-called PSC, which is to say a Ltd company, on my own. I'm looking here for advice on how to use this to my best (tax) advantage and for info that I havn't been able to find elsewhere, and hopefully others finding this will have their questions answered in the process.

My contract work currently takes two distinct forms - work that is calculated hourly and paid as PAYE within IR35, and work for which I invoice as a lump sum for a designated project. Both are presently processed though an umbrella and it is the latter I am particularly keen to maximise my tax advantages on.

So far, the only information in plain english I can find is either outdated, or BS from Umbrellas, set-up services and other people trying to make a buck. So hopefully others can benefit from any clear answers to my questions. Which are:

1. The lump sum monies. Is there any advantage (or disadvantage) to my invoicing for these sums divided up as a daily rate, or should I continue to invoice for them as a single figure. The tax distinction isn't clear to me.

2. My main confusion is with turning the money in the business account into money payed to me, while maximising the end sum.