• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New contractor question...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New contractor question...

So firstly, hello, I'm new to this forum and also contracting as a whole. I graduated university this year and am now in a permanent web development role. I am not enjoying the job at all and have always wanted to run my own company anyway so contracting seems like a good idea.

During university I picked up a number of clients for which I do sporadic web development work, the odd £1,000 here and there.

My question is, if I became a contractor and registered a limited company, would I be able to bill these little jobs here and there through the company, and how would this affect my IR35 status?

At a guess I'd hope it would demonstrate that I do not work just for one company.

Any thoughts would be appreciated

Originally posted by McKieThanks View Post
    My question is, if I became a contractor and registered a limited company, would I be able to bill these little jobs here and there through the company
    Yes - although bear in mind that if your limited company turnover exceeded the current VAT threshold you'd need to start charging them VAT - which they may not like if they're one man bands or small businesses that are not VAT registered.

and how would this affect my IR35 status?

At a guess I'd hope it would demonstrate that I do not work just for one company.