• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Flat-rating and pricey laptops

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Flat-rating and pricey laptops

I need to buy a new laptop, for various reasons it's quite an expensive one (I'm a mac developer and deal with graphics, so it's a Macbook Pro - no choice in the matter). The laptop is £1650 including VAT.

I'm on the flat-rate scheme, so I'm right in thinking I can only claim back VAT from the purchase if the item is above £2000.

I can add extra RAM, more storage space, etc, and bring the total to £2000. Since the VAT on a £2000 item is £350, this means with the VAT refunded the total cost to me would be £1650 - the price I was originally planning to pay.

So, unless I'm missing something here, I can basically get £350 worth of upgrades for 'free'? I guess this situation doesn't normally crop up all that often as most laptops wouldn't be that pricey, and it's only by chance the price of the model I want to buy is the same as the price of a £2000 item excluding VAT...

Without quibbling about your maths, the principle is there. If the cost of the laptop is £2000 or more (inclusive of 17.5% VAT), under the flat rate VAT scheme, your business can claim back the 17.5%.

Comment

Your maths is a little out. When you're talking about a gross price of £2,000 the VAT is actually £297.87 (£2,000 is 117.5% of the net price).