• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First Year Accounts with huge corp tax

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Year Accounts with huge corp tax

Hello Guys
    I am a newbie to contracting and to this forum . I have finished my 1st year as an IT contracor. my accountant has produced my annual accounts and came up with 15k as corporation tax. I personally feel this is a huge amount.
    do you think I can do something to reduce this amount.

My accounts Involves:
    1. I took 10k PA as salary
    2. rest of the dividend allowance.
    3. other odd expenses : car allowance and odd stationary and acctant fees

any suggestions or help is much appreciated .

Regards

Originally posted by muralijv View Post
    Hello Guys
    I am a newbie to contracting and to this forum . I have finished my 1st year as an IT contracor. my accountant has produced my annual accounts and came up with 15k as corporation tax.
    How much revenue was reported in the annual accounts ?

Comment

I have finished my 1st year as an IT contracor. my accountant has produced my annual accounts and came up with 15k as corporation tax. I personally feel this is a huge amount. do you think I can do something to reduce this amount.
      Welcome!

ave a look at this calculator and see how much of your gross (ex vat) that you should be retaining for your salary/expenses level. Also understand that if you are taking over about £43k in salary/dividends then you are going to be hit with a big tax bill as a higher rate tax payer.