• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Do I need to hire accountant on an ongoing basis for my simple case?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do I need to hire accountant on an ongoing basis for my simple case?

... or can I just hire someone ad-hoc for the year-end work each year?

I'm pretty new to all these (contracting, accounting and tax). I've read some articles here and there on the benefits and necessity of hiring an accountant on an ongoing basis. But I'm not sure to which extend these would benefit me on my simplest case. Here it is:

I need to register a Ltd to do some IT contracting work for a company. For some reason, I must register a Ltd instead of being a sole trader or using umbrella company. Also, I might do just a few months this year and another few months next year (which was proposed by the company), but that's probably it. I consider it a temporary thing, and I'm not going to make contracting as a permanent or full time job in the long run.

The only turnover of the Ltd will come from the the invoice I issue to the company , which is based on my daily rates. I'll issue the invoice monthly (or even quarterly if it makes things simpler, so by the end of year I guess there will be only 2-3 invoices in total?)

I'll probably use the flat rate VAT scheme just to keep it simple, or maybe not do VAT registration at all if I eventually work for less months per year and keep the turnover below the threshold.