• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Not paid HMRC or done any paperwork.. how screwed am I?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Not paid HMRC or done any paperwork.. how screwed am I?

Hi all,

Long story short, my old accountant was a joke... and so was I... I took money out of my limited business (I'm a new IT contractor) for expenses (reimburse by my client) and personal stuff like food, rent etc and I've not filed a single bit of paperwork with HMRC, I don't have PAYE set up and I've been collecting VAT without paying any to HMRC.

I'm now looking for an accountant to fix this mess. I've got just over 30k in the business account, I must have taken out around 20k for myself during the time I was working.

All I want to do now is close the business, pay HMRC whatever I owe and take what's left in a tax efficient way so I can service another debt that I have.

My accountant was a joke but the real problem here was me. I'm looking to right all my wrongs and get back on track (I'm a fill time employee again, I don't plan on being a contractor again).

Obviously, only an accountant can help me now but I was wondering if anyone here had an idea of what would happen next with me?

Let this be a lesson to all....

Over what period was this? Are your final accountants due yet?

Comment

Originally posted by stek View Post
      Over a around 8 months form May last year. I think my end of year accounts are a little late at the moment.

Comment

Originally posted by stek View Post