• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Taking on a contract while working as a Permie

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Taking on a contract while working as a Permie

Hi

I work as a permie but have been approached by my former company to do a little out of hours work in the evening or at weekends - likely 4-8 hours a week. Since they don't want to take me on as staff, that would essentially make me a contractor. Therefore, I have a few questions.

What is the simplest way to achieve this? The terms of my employment state that I can't take on the position of a director of another company. Does this mean I shouldn't set up a small company to receive payments? What other options are there? Can I use someone else's company, as I have a number of friends who are full time contractors.

Do I need to tell my employer about it all, for tax purposes? Assume whatever further earnings I make I would have to pay at the higher tax bracket.

Am I over-thinking this? Would it be simpler to just be paid by personal cheques and simply declare earnings to HMRC via a self assessment at the end of the year. Wo

FYI, I'm probably going to ask for around £50 an hour, so not big bucks. Enough to help make ends meet, which is the point of doing this.

Thanks

The options I can think of are:

- Try and seek approval from your employer to use a company.
    - Set up another company, but without you as a director (for example, your spouse as a director and you as an employee).