• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

UK LTD in Germany

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UK LTD in Germany

Hello Forum, newbie here.
    I obviously searched the forum before posting.

I am offered a short term 4 to 5 month contract in Bavaria, Germany and agent’s advice is to use UK ltd company for this work.
    I understand if I did this I will have to charge zero VAT and
    I can chose whether my LTD receive payment as EURO or GBP (Agent will convert € to £ on the exchange rate prevailing on that date).

I know the popular opinion in the forum is to register as a freelancer, but I was wondering as it is really short term
    (to tide me over to other side of Christmas), do I need to take any hassle in setting up German freelance.
    Also, would I need to register with any authority in Germany?
    Personally, if it is legit, I would prefer contracting through UK LTD company due to short term duration and continuity of UK LTD
    This possibly also helps with expenses for weekly flight to home in UK plus hotel in Germany for weekdays while I am working there.
    Note that I will maintain my permanent UK home as family will stay in UK and my agent is a UK based company with UK VAT registration.

Any help greatly appreciated.

I got some useful advice in depth from a German adviser. Since this is his professional work, I'm not going to quote it all here.

Mods: may I recommend the adviser concerned?

Comment