• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Interested in Contract Work

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Interested in Contract Work

Hi all,

I currently work in IT and have been in permanent employment for over 10 years now over 2 companies.

I've looked into contract work simply as the pay is much better.

I've read lots on this website, which I've found extremely helpful, so thanks for that. Other sites too have helped.

My question though is what sort of costs are expected when you decide to change from perm to contract work. I will be setting up as a Limited company, but what costs are expected initially to set all this up, or is it a case of paying your accountant say £100pcm when you get your first pay?

Do some contracts only pay when the contract has ended or is it a monthly payment?

Thanks

Chris

I strongly suggest you read the First Timers links over there --------------->

When you're up-to speed with the basic info then ask specific questions, not general, as it is you're not likely to get much help even in the Professional Forums when it's obvious you haven't event considered what's involved.

READ THIS FIRST

Comment

Thanks, but that's not particularly helpful. I've read that already but my questions are to other contractors based on their experience as that would be more helpful

If anyone can advise that'd be great

Chris

Comment

Originally posted by chrisaxe21 View Post