• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

minimum salary to meet state pension credit for a given year

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

minimum salary to meet state pension credit for a given year

As I understand it the minimum salary within a given tax year in order to receive credit for that year towards the state pension is £5,772. Does it matter if that salary is paid in lumps or must it be paid more equally? I'm asking because for about 10 weeks of this tax year I worked as an umbrella contractor, in between I took 7 months off and now I'm working for my own limited company and would prefer not to draw a salary as I'm already over the tax-free allowance. And then in the next tax year it would be nice to pay myself a salary of £5,772 on 6 April.

The noddy content of .gov web site is hopeless on this.

Qualifying for Basic State Pension | Rights 4 Seniors
    or State Pensions - Pensions & Annuities - Prudential UK

looks better.

In essence the old 52 x weekly LEL looks like its gone. You now need to have earned LEL in one way or another over the tax year.

Originally posted by prudential
    To build up a qualifying year you pay national insurance contributions to the state. For each qualifying year you must be earning about certain minimum income levels set by the government. For the 2014/15 tax year, the levels are £5,772 for an employee and £5,885 for a self-employed person.

Comment