• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Changing Limited Company Name

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Changing Limited Company Name

Hi

Apologies if this has been posted before. I tried searching and couldn't really find what I was looking for.

I have been contracting for many years now and have finally found a little side business that I am looking to get off the ground in the next month or so.

Based on this assumption, I was thinking of changing my limied company name and my accountant has offered to do this for me for £200+VAT. I just wanted to ask if this is a reasonable amount considering just changing the name is about filling in a form and sending it to companies house for a small fee of around £15- £30 I think. I could be wrong so thought I would ask here :-)

Sounds steep yes!

Comment

Seems quite high to me for the work that is involved.
      Will they also be informing HMRC, Companies House and you bank for you too.

As an example I would not be looking to charge more than the actual fee involved if already paying a fixed fee for accountancy services.

Comment

DIY.
        Theres a form on companies house.
        Doesnt cost much.
        I did it myself after a domain name became available that wasnt available when I first reg'd

Comment

quick google :-

Form is NM01
          https://www.gov.uk/government/public...pany-name-nm01

I would now be looking for a new accountant if he was going to rip me off that much.

Comment