• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Two Initial Small Ltd. Questions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Two Initial Small Ltd. Questions

I'm a 20 years old student and in November last year I started running a small limited company. It has potential to grow substantially in the future, but as of now it is still a micro-entity and we do not yet have to register for PAYE. While most things have gone by rather smoothly so far in terms of accounting, there are two few question marks which I would appreciate your support with.

1. After going through HMRC's check of whether you need to register as an employer or not (https://www.gov.uk/register-employer), it was concluded that I do not have to do so yet. As previously mentioned, my company is yet a micro-entity and we do not have to register for PAYE. However, when I pay myself a salary in my position as director of the company, can I do so right away as long as it's properly recorded or do I need to take any special considerations in mind? In particular I'm curious if I'm meant to take the tax off of what I pay myself, give myself a payslip and then give myself that tax money back at the end of the year given that it would be too little to pay income-tax for. I also know that the company has to be profitable for me to pay myself, but I'm rather uncertain about the income-tax and payslip considerations.