• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Business- Funds - Investment?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Business- Funds - Investment?

Hi

I am a self employed IT contractor, £400-500 a day and have been contracting self employed for the last 3.5 years.

After i pay myself all expenses, wages, dividends I will have 50k left which is made up of funds from over the last 3 years of trading.

Question 1 - what shall i do with these funds to make the money work for me ....

Question 2 - Can i transfer the funds into my Santander 123 account until the tax year ends and use the money to earn myself interest (as keeping it in my current business bank account is not making me any money). I can earn £40 a months per 20k as i have 2 Satander 123 accounts,

Question 3 - Can i buy stocks and shares with the money for investment purposes

I want to ensure i am acting legally but also want to maximise the profits .....

Thanks

Re 2 - short answer no. Long answer yes, but you would need a deed of trust or face the consequences of this being a loan to you. Either way its provocative.

Re 3 - yes, you could, but (a) may have impact on long term access to things like entrepreneurs relief and (b) puts investment at risk in a trading company which is not good practice. Opinions differ, but my preference is to take a dividend, provide for the tax, and invest in your personal name. You are less geared to start with, but the longer term tax and security looks better.

Comment