• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Self employed and coming up to 2 years...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Self employed and coming up to 2 years...

Hi all

I've had a dig through the forums, FAQ and the badly designed .GOV stuff and I think I have the answer but wanted to check.

I'm a permie consultant but my wife is contracting part time for a local company. As she is part time and doesn't earn much the costs of a limited co were far more than the benefits (she is way way below the VAT threshold for example), and she would definitely have been caught by IR35. In fact she would rather be a permie at the company but they have no headcount, so stupidly continue to pay contractor rates for what is in effect a permie position.

Just to confirm, she is self employed and not going through an agency, ltd co or umbrella. The client seem happy with this arrangement - unusual I know! She pays tax through self assessment ( full income tax and NI), and only claims for travel outside of her commute to their head office where she normally works (say to another office or a meeting).

She has just been offered a 6 month extension which will take her over 2 years there. I assume that this would start to bring her client some employment liability in the same way as if she were employed (redundancy, unfair dismissal etc)? Is there anything I haven't picked up on that she will need to do differently in paying tax? Or any other watch outs I should tell her about?