• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Insurance

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Insurance

Hi,

I've secured a position through an agency and having just read the contract it mentions having appropriate insurances in place. Before taking this job I spoke to a few different agencies and they gave different views about the need for my company to have its own insurance, generally they didn't seem to actually know and were just guessing in my opinion.

Is it generally accurate that as a limited company contractor I do need to have my own insurances?

Depends on what the client and agency stipulates. Check your contract.

Comment

Originally posted by Alan @ BroomeAffinity View Post
      Depends on what the client and agency stipulates. Check your contract.
      This....^ You are not called a CONTRACTor for nothing....
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

I have checked the contract and it says have the appropriate insurances in place. My question was if this was common? Do the vast majority of contracts include this? Is it fundamental to being a contractor?

Comment

Yes it is. You are a supplier contracted to work with clients data and the like. They want to make sure you can pay up if you do something that's going to cost them a lot of money. Employees get the sack, you will get sued. You need Professional Indemnity insurance that will pay out if you **** up with the clients data.

It's not expensive. Go look at QDOS and the like.