• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Chruchill Knight's "Snapshot"

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chruchill Knight's "Snapshot"

Hi all

I have been using CK for just over two years and found their remittance advices a straightforward way of keeping tabs on my companies position and the amount I could withdraw as a dividend.

This has all changed now with the introduction of their website 'Snapshot'. No more remittance advices, instead just half a dozen amounts (cash at bank, corporation tax payable, available dividend and a couple of others). No way of validating VAT or HMRC amounts payable and a general lack of transparency.

My first experience has been a nightmare, the dividend available if I calculate using the remittance format and actual figures is almost £2,000 less that what the Snapshot tells me. On querying this, the amount changed twice within hours as they pressed random buttons and the current amount suggested is now even higher!!

Has anyone on the forum any similar experience?

More accountants trying to re-invent the wheel with their own online "portals" when there are lots of established battle-tested solutions out there already (FreeAgent, Xero, Kashflow, Quickbooks etc.). I thought it was just developers that suffered from NIH syndrome.

Do you have to use their portal or can you move to one of the above instead?

Comment

I keep an extended trial balance & will keep this going. I found two errors as a result in my first lot of draft accounts.