• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Claimable expenditure - working in London and home in Germany

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Claimable expenditure - working in London and home in Germany

Hi there

I'm new to contracting and have just landed a contract in London. I'll be moving to Germany very soon to live with my partner who has moved there to work on a scientific research project. I'm trying to weigh up what expenses I can claim through my limited company and which ones I can't. The HMRC website is not straightforward at all but clearly I don't want to fall foul of any laws or regulations. I'll ask some specific questions and maybe one or more people can help. So when I move to Germany.

1. I plan to fly to fly into London on a Sunday eve and then back again on Thursday eve - can i claim for Easyjet flights ? circa £120 a week?

2. I don't know whether it would be better to stay in hotels or rent a flat via my company - my gut instinct is hotels in case something happens with my contract and it ends early (otherwise I might be saddled with a minimum period lease that I can't get out of) if i stayed in a hotel could i claim back through my company (most likely around £80 ish a night 4 x nights a week). If I did a company let - are there any particular pitfalls and could I claim through my company?

3. Is there anything else I could claim in these circumstances - like meals etc. ?