• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella -> Ltd. Co. Any benefits inside of IR35?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Umbrella -> Ltd. Co. Any benefits inside of IR35?

Hello,

Looking for some advice on moving from an umbrella to a Ltd Co. Would be grateful if someone would check my conclusions.

Background: I’m a contractor offering IT related consultancy in the Pharma sector, and have been with the same client for approximately 5 years via an umbrella. For the first two years I claimed travel\accommodation expenses and when it became clear that the contract would go past the two year mark I stopped claiming. Working arrangements mean I’m within IR35. Expenses come out of my own pocket now. I live away from home Mon-Fri.

The end client I contract for has come up with some new ‘compliance’ policies for subcontractors. One of these is that all contractors must have their own Ltd. Co. Umbrellas are not permitted. The up-shot is that I either form a Ltd. Co. of leave. Current contract is almost expired and they will not renew under an umbrella. I’ve only just found this out.

I’ve done some research into running a Ltd. Co. consultancy and there doesn’t appear to be much of an up-side given legislation of the last 10 years; IR35 & dividend tax.
    1. If I did form a Ltd. Co. I’d still have to declare (nearly) all company income as salary to be within IR35. I assume the accountant is a valid expense.
    2. I’d have to pay an accountant.