• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dividend question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dividend question

Hi, I have a question with regards to dividends and total net pay. If higher rate tax kicks in at anything over £38335 are most of us just taking the 40% hit if we draw anything over ? I'm in my first year of contracting and I don't see myself coming out on this. I'm curios whether anyone else is in the same situation.

Yes, you generally take the hit.

Comment

You have to pay the tax. It's only fair.

It's not 40% though.

Happily the amount of surplus funds the board of my company decided were appropriate for distribution have taken me to more or less exactly the higher rate limit for 06/07.
      Will work inside IR35. Or for food.

Comment

Originally posted by VectraMan
        You have to pay the tax. It's only fair.

It's not 40% though.

Happily the amount of surplus funds the board of my company decided were appropriate for distribution have taken me to more or less exactly the higher rate limit for 06/07.
        Hi Vectra, what do you mean it's not 40% ?

Comment