• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

newbie question but important - please help:)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

newbie question but important - please help:)

Hi I am looking to break into the investment banking industry as a c++ programmer, I am relatively new to this industry and quite young.

This would not be contracting work, permenant in fact. But I thought this would be a very informed place to ask around.

Qu below

Recently a recruiter has approached me and asked for exclusive access to grant him exclusive permission to send my cv onto certain banks.

Is this normal?
    Why would he want to do this?
    Does anyone have any oppinions on Aston Carter (www.astoncarter.co.uk)?

Thank you.

If your CV doesn't get sent to the banks by any other agents, this agent will be the one that takes the cash if/when you get placed by any of them.

Think of the agent as the salesman and yourself as the product/service and you'll soon get the idea.

Comment

This makes sense,

Is it normal for recruiters to do this? And should I say no?

Comment

It is normal for recruiters (aka agents) to do anything that will get cash in their pocket. Much like everybody else (including myself).

I wouldn't recommend that you allow him to do this - it makes you almost entirely dependent on that specific agent to find you a job.