• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How are your VAT registrations going?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How are your VAT registrations going?

I am puzzled.

I'm a sole trader, had my business since 2004, and I've just recently applied for VAT registration as due to the demise of the MSCs I've picked up a fair bit of new work in the last couple of months and I reckon I'll hit the threshold at some point this year. I applied online about 3 weeks ago, and I got my certificate through yesterday with no further correspondence.

On the same day, I did online applications for 2 contractor clients who are Ltd. One has had his co for over 12 months but like me is only likely to hit the threshold this year, the other has a new company that he has just set up. We've had a request for supporting evidence (contracts & invoices) for the new guy, and nothing at all for the other one.

Do I assume therefore that they are being a lot more thorough with new registrations for Ltds? Or has it always been that way?

Originally posted by Bigbird
    I am puzzled.

I'm a sole trader, had my business since 2004, and I've just recently applied for VAT registration as due to the demise of the MSCs I've picked up a fair bit of new work in the last couple of months ...........

Do I assume therefore that they are being a lot more thorough with new registrations for Ltds? Or has it always been that way?
    Not a great one for cause and effect, are you BB?