• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

age question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

age question

I am considering giving up the permanent role and taking the plunge into contracting.
    The only concern I have is to do with age, would you consider age to be a factor with clients / agents when looking for work?
    I am only 42, but have concerns that it may be an issue as time goes on?

Depends what you do.

I'm a project manager and about the same age as you. It seems to work for me because my age meets clients expectations of how old an experienced, qualified project manager should be.

But... I can also do Oracle development and it's getting harder to get a role doing that because I'm up against cheaper grads with a grounding in the latest technologies (or so the clients think).
    It's my opinion and I'm entitled to it. www.areyoupopular.mobi

Comment

Depends what field you are in and how up-to-date you are with latest technologies / trends etc.

When I was a permie in senior management I used to recruit contractors in the 40+ bracket as a preference as when it comes to contracors I was always looking for experience. When you are paying contracor rates it is also easier to take when you know you are buying several years worth of know-how.

I am in my early thirties and that seems to be a reasonable age to get contracting work, but it seems pretty impossible to get interim management roles which is what I wanted to do a little of...that is deffo reserved for the 40+ bracket...