• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Going Permie for a short while??

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Going Permie for a short while??

HI,

I have been contracting in an Engineering company since forming my LTD 3 months ago.They have just told me that my contract will not be renewned but have offered me a Permie position instead.

I would prefer to stay contracting but it could take me a while to find another gig on similar money (around £25/hr).

The permie position is £38,000 plus 6%pension and bupa.

Im tempted to take permie job and use time to find next gig so I've still got money coming in.

Are there any reasons why I shouldn't do this (Notice period in contract is 3 months but have been told 1 month is normal notice period)

Also, can I still draw my min wage salary while i'm still working full-time elsewhere? ie get paid from my new employer and pay paye and through myco LTD?

Originally posted by unisign124
    I would prefer to stay contracting but it could take me a while to find another gig on similar money (around £25/hr).

Im tempted to take permie job and use time to find next gig so I've still got money coming in.
    Seems like a good deal, 25/hr - 1000/wk for a 48week is 48000. The permi salary is not far off that. In IT the numbers rarely come that close!

Also, can I still draw my min wage salary while i'm still working full-time elsewhere? ie get paid from my new employer and pay paye and through myco LTD?