PDA

View Full Version : Working Hours - Where Did My Life Go?

WetBehindTheEars
3rd August 2007, 07:42
I'm a first time contractor; 2 1/2 months' into my first contract.

As a permie I had a fairly good work\life balance - worked a basic 37 hour week and had time to go to the gym after work, spend time with the girlfriend etc.

I am only contracted to a 40 hour week. I work with a lot of contractors and competition to impress more than the next man and to secure that next renewal is high. I've been starting work at 8am (most contractors are already at their desks working when I arrive) and leaving work at about 7pm (most contractors are still at their desks working when I leave). Is this normal?

My limited experience of contracting and other seasoned contractors is that you are worked to within an inch of your life and fellow contractors would sell you down the river and not loose a moments sleep to get their renewal ahead of you.

DimPrawn
3rd August 2007, 07:45
Yes. Next.

SandyDown
3rd August 2007, 07:46
I'm a first time contractor; 2 1/2 months' into my first contract.

As a permie I had a fairly good work\life balance - worked a basic 37 hour week and had time to go to the gym after work, spend time with the girlfriend etc.

I am only contracted to a 40 hour week. I work with a lot of contractors and competition to impress more than the next man and to secure that next renewal is high. I've been starting work at 8am (most contractors are already at their desks working when I arrive) and leaving work at about 7pm (most contractors are still at their desks working when I leave). Is this normal?

My limited experience of contracting and other seasoned contractors is that you are worked to within an inch of your life and fellow contractors would sell you down the river and not loose a moments sleep to get their renewal ahead of you.